Bungwahl Public School

A great place to be, a great place to learn.

Telephone02 4997 6175


Environment Award


UN Award for Kitchen Garden

Bungwahl Public School always knew its kitchen garden was a winner only now it has a united Nations Award to prove it.

The school has just claimed the 2011 United Nations Association Australian World Environment Schools Award for its "From the Garden - Kitchen /Canteen Classroom' initiative.

Each year, in support of World Environment Day (June 5) the UNAA recognises innovative and outstanding environmental programs and initiatives from across Australia and the important work of Australian environmental leaders through its World Environment Day Awards program.

Bungwahl was among 16 winners in categories to individuals , schools, community groups, businesses and local governments, highlighting top environmental initiatives and programs.

Bungwahl Public was one of the first nine schools in NSW to join The Stephanie Alexander Kitchen Garden Program. Awarded funding of $65000 to build the infrastructure for a home style and edible garden, today the school boasts an amazing practical and vibrant garden as well as a professional kitchen.

Each week students participate in a 45-minute class in the garden and a 90-minute class in their kitchen classroom, led by kitchen garden specialist, Nikki Dixon.

Here they learn to build and maintain their garden, and grow and harvest a wide range of fruits, vegetables, herbs and flowers with which they prepare delicious dishes.

Students share the meal they create and dine around beautifully set tables decorated with fresh flowers from the garden.

"we feel that our students are developing an appreciation of the rituals and tastes of the table that will last a lifetime", principal Sue Hobbs sais.

Established in 2000 the winners of the World Environment Day Awards were announced in Melbourne by mark Davis, presenter of SBS Dateline.



This article was written by Sven Wright for the Great Lakes Advocate,




Accepting the award -


Mrs Lee-Ann Bramble and Mrs Nikki Dixon.